what to do if a car has been sitting for 2 years

Status
Not open for further replies.
fuzzybabybunny
  • #1
My old 2000 Toyota Echo has been sitting outside uncovered in the sunny California weather for 2 years. It had gas in information technology when I left information technology. I had no idea that sitting for that long would exist bad for information technology. I merely simply found out. I figured that at well-nigh I would need to just replace the battery, but manifestly a lot of other things can go wrong.

I was planning on getting a new battery, siphoning out the old gas, putting in fresh gas, and seeing if it works.

I went to OReilly Auto Parts to get a bombardment and siphon, and they guy said:

1. Modern cars like the 2000 Repeat have something in the tank that prevents siphoning. The gas that is in there is going to have to stay at that place.

2. He gave me instead this: http://www.amazon.com/28202-Iso-HEET.../dp/B000V4HC7Y

HEET Fuel Line Water Remover. He said put this in, look a chip, then the car volition be fine to drive.

three. I got a new battery.

The guy said he had a 76 Camaro that had been sitting for 12 years. Information technology started right up with a new battery and the fuel water remover.

This sounds a bit suspicious to me. Everywhere on the spider web it says to replace the fuel, add in new fuel, go a new bombardment, and and so *possibly* it'll drive. Just they also say that the engine is probably dry of oil, the brakes are non seized, and that I should get it towed to a mechanic right away where they will besides flush out the entire fuel system. Oh, and gaskets everywhere will exist leaking and rotted away.

Zenmervolt
Oct 22, 2000
24,510
12
81
  • #2
2-yr-old gasoline should be fine. Just acme off the tank with good new fuel when you lot can and you'll be fine.

There'south no way in hell information technology'll be out of oil and unless you left the parking brake on the whole time there'southward little chance that annihilation volition be truly seized. Possibly stuck a little, just it should free itself up again.

Just replace the battery and see if it'll offset without anything else going on first so get from in that location. Obviously double-check all the fluid levels (coolant/oil/brakes) merely I'd be shocked if any were dry.

ZV

  • #iii
worse would probably exist the oil film being nonexistent. IMO.
Imp
Feb 8, 2000
18,829
184
106
  • #4
My old 2000 Toyota Repeat has been sitting exterior uncovered in the sunny California conditions for 2 years. It had gas in information technology when I left it. I had no idea that sitting for that long would be bad for information technology. I only only found out. I figured that at most I would need to just replace the battery, but apparently a lot of other things can go wrong.
I just.... don't believe that...
jlee
Sep 12, 2001
48,510
219
106
  • #5
worse would probably be the oil movie existence nonexistent. IMO.
Yeah, simply subsequently sitting that long the fuel system will probably have to re-pressurize and then it'll probable turn over for a few seconds (circulating oil) before it really starts.
  • #half-dozen
Did you ever move it during that two year menstruation? I bet all four of your tires have apartment spots.
Throckmorton
  • #seven
Why didn't yous sell the automobile?
MagnusTheBrewer
Jun xix, 2004
24,135
one,592
126
  • #8
Why didn't you lot sell the car?
Information technology was his guest sleeping room. :)

FBB, after getting a new bombardment, drain the tank and get new gas, pull the spark plug wires and, plow the engine over a few times before trying to start.

  • #9
I wouldn't even get a new battery without trying to accuse the old one commencement. I'd but change the oil and call it expert.
  • #10
another fuzybabybunny thread, no criminal offense dude just it seems you always do something y'all think you shouldn't have or are very bad-mannered about it then come up mail service on the forums

from women, to photography and now this

fuzzybabybunny
  • #11
Information technology was his guest bedroom. :)

FBB, afterward getting a new battery, drain the tank and go new gas, pull the spark plug wires and, turn the engine over a few times earlier trying to starting time.

How do I drain the tank? Like the O'Reilly guy said, there'due south no way to get a siphon hose in there. Modern cars take a machinery that allows fluid to get into the tank, but not a rigid tube.
Throckmorton
  • #12
Nosotros all practice stupid stuff but most of us are besides embarassed to post about it.

There should be a FBB sitcom.

Throckmorton
  • #thirteen
How practice I drain the tank? Like the O'Reilly guy said, in that location'south no way to go a siphon hose in at that place. Modern cars have a machinery that allows fluid to get into the tank, but not a rigid tube.
The gas station nozzle is a rigid tube. Or exercise yous hateful information technology won't go to the bottom?
fuzzybabybunny
  • #fourteen
The gas station nozzle is a rigid tube. Or do you lot mean it won't go to the bottom?
Won't go to the bottom. About a human foot in in that location is supposedly a block. More like a sieve that allows gas through, only doesn't let debris and siphons in.
LTC8K6
Mar ten, 2004
28,520
1,574
126
  • #15
Y'all will demand to modify the oil, likewise.
LTC8K6
Mar ten, 2004
28,520
1,574
126
  • #16
Won't go to the bottom. About a human foot in there is supposedly a block. More like a sieve that allows gas through, merely doesn't allow droppings and siphons in.
Pull the fuel line at the engine, get a big bucket, and turn the cardinal on. The fuel pump volition drain the tank.
brainhulk
Sep 14, 2007
9,418
453
126
  • #17
Pull the fuel line at the engine, get a big bucket, and plough the cardinal on. The fuel pump volition drain the tank.
hopefully some random spark won't ignite the fuel
DaTT
Feb 13, 2003
13,288
117
106
  • #xviii
How exercise I drain the tank? Similar the O'Reilly guy said, there'due south no style to become a siphon hose in in that location. Modern cars have a machinery that allows fluid to get into the tank, only not a rigid tube.
Get a corded, or cordless drill and a three/viii" drill scrap.....
  • #19
Yous certain have a lot of drama in your life, you'd do well on MTV.
Doppel
  • #20
EDIT: I was just rambling, so editing to save people reading it.
  • #21
The guy said he had a 76 Camaro that had been sitting for 12 years. It started right upward with a new battery and the fuel water remover.
That guy's full of it. After 12 yrs, the gas will definitely be NG and I doubt an engine could run on information technology. 2 yrs, just try starting it.

Have you fifty-fifty tryed to offset it after trying to charge the bombardment?

waggy
  • #22
you guys are trying to over complicate this. I have had cars that have saturday for years (longest was three years). Accuse the battery (I would get new) and check all fluids (they should be notwithstanding filled..if nto you have more issues).

IF in that location is gas in it it should start with some effort. refill with fresh gas if it at least turns over.

No demand to bleed and refill the gas (unless 3+ years old).

  • #23
I had old gas in my lawn mower that was left there for two years. The lawn mower started correct upward but died afterwards 3 minutes of running. I took the carburetor off and drain the tank . The gas was orange in color. It also clogged up the carburetor. Same with the gas that was left in my gas can. It looked like varnish
Gillbot
Jan eleven, 2001
28,830
17
81
  • #24
My motorcar sat for 3 years till the 18th of April, I got in, fired it up and drove information technology to the gas station for fresh gas. Raced it all solar day the 20th, came dwelling and parked it.
fuzzybabybunny
  • #25
Ok, and so this is what I plan on doing:

1. I've already added the HEET Fuel Water Remover
2. I got a new battery - old bombardment is beyond dead and tending of already
3. I'll endeavour turning on the car
4. Immediately go to change the oil.

For time to come periods of extended storage I'g going to:

i. Make sure all fluids and oil and filter are new.
2. Get 4 jacks and raise it and then in that location'southward not as much pressure to make the tires go flat, but I won't raise information technology so much that the wheels hang (bad for interruption)
3. Put fuel stabilizer in the tank.
4. Accept the tank be as empty every bit possible.
5. Pop off the fuel injectors and spray it and the insides with oil - what kind of oil?
6. Take out the battery. Do I have to hook up the batter to a trickle charger somewhere? Would leaving a disconnected battery sitting for a couple years by itself irreparably damage it (eat through the plates, lead to sulphination, etc)?

I'm well-nigh to go shopping in a few minutes.

Status
Not open for further replies.
  • Advertising
  • Cookies Policies
  • Privacy
  • Term & Atmospheric condition
  • About us

watkinstheausted.blogspot.com

Source: https://forums.anandtech.com/threads/did-a-very-dumb-thing-car-sitting-for-2-years.2243754/

0 Response to "what to do if a car has been sitting for 2 years"

Post a Comment

Iklan Atas Artikel

Iklan Tengah Artikel 1

Iklan Tengah Artikel 2

Iklan Bawah Artikel